Wednesday, 1 April 2015



Everyone was celebrating the end of civil war while Sara Montgomery was broken because she lost her love Rand Campbell in that war. Her father was fighting his illness and the doctor had already confirmed that he had not much time left in this world.

Sara agreed to her father’s proposal to marry Ben Croftner despite of the fact that she could never love him. But soon she realized his fiancĂ© (Ben) is keeping something from her. The mystery was unravelled when Rand returned home after five months. But so many things had already happened during that time. After seeing Rand, Sara decided to call off her marriage, but Ben couldn’t take the rejection.

‘A heart’s Disguise’ is the first book of ‘a journey of the heart’ series. This is a shorter book and the story set on post civil war. This book has met up to my expectation level. The cover of the book is simple yet eye catching.

I felt connected with the female protagonist Sara Montgomery. She suffered the post trauma of her beloved death, but sacrificed herself for others to be happy. She always handled her household chores and mistreated by her brother. I pitied her. Some characters leave an imprint on your soul; Sara Montgomery is one of them.

I understand the reasons behind Rand’s behavior towards Sara. You’ll come back after a long time only to find your beloved is marrying someone and that person also faked your death news. Then your blood will surely boil.

The author has kept this story short, simple yet heart warming. I liked the writing style of the author. She has described her characters well. The first book mostly gives a brief idea about the characters; their thoughts and their personalities. I’m now waiting for her second book. This is my first read in the historical romance genre.

I will recommend this to all historical romance reader, who love mushy romance along with some melodrama. I will give 4 out of 5 stars to this novella for the author’s magical writing style.

I have received this book from Litfuse publicity, in exchange for an honest review. 


In the aftermath of the Civil War, a young woman searches for her lost love at the edge of the West.

The Civil War has destroyed Sarah Montgomery's marriage before it's even begun.

After Sarah receives word that her fiance, Rand Campbell, has been killed fighting for the Union, her brothers and ailing father persuade her to pledge herself to Ben Croftner--despite her strong misgivings. But when Sarah finds out that Rand is in fact alive--and that Ben Croftner knew it--she indignantly breaks off the engagement and goes in search of Rand.

But Ben Croftner does not take rejection lightly--and a single woman with a sick father makes an easy target. When Sarah is abducted by her treacherous fiance, Rand finally comes to her aid . . . only to reveal that he has been posted at Fort Laramie, Wyoming, and intends to take her there as his wife. But could Sarah leave her dying father's side for the love of her life? And what plans are forming in the jealous heart of Ben Croftner?

About The Author-:

USAToday bestselling author Colleen Coble lives with her husband, Dave, in Indiana. She is the author of dozens of novels including the Rock Harbor Series, the Aloha Reef Series, the Mercy Falls Series, the Hope Beach Series, the Lonestar Series and two Women of Faith fiction selections, Alaska Twilight and Midnight Sea. She has more than 2 million books in print.

Thanks for stopping by, I read each and every comment. Share your thoughts before leaving...

1 comment:

  1. the story seems really interesting...i like parting and meeting stories..
    good review..



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...